How Many Types Of Ration Card R In India

How To Articles

In India, there are several types of ration cards that are issued by the government to ensure that food and essential supplies reach the economically weaker sections of society. As someone who has personally experienced the significance of ration cards, I find it fascinating to dive deep into the details of these different types and understand how they cater to the diverse needs of the Indian population.

1. Below Poverty Line (BPL) Ration Card:

The Below Poverty Line (BPL) ration card is issued to families living below the poverty line. This card provides access to essential commodities such as rice, wheat, sugar, and kerosene at subsidized prices. It aims to support those who are in the most vulnerable economic conditions and ensure that they have access to basic food items.

2. Antyodaya Anna Yojana (AAY) Ration Card:

The Antyodaya Anna Yojana (AAY) ration card is issued to the poorest of the poor households. It provides highly subsidized food grains to identified beneficiaries, including elderly individuals, disabled persons, and single women. The AAY ration card focuses on targeting those who are most in need and aims to alleviate hunger and malnutrition among the marginalized sections of society.

3. Above Poverty Line (APL) Ration Card:

The Above Poverty Line (APL) ration card is issued to households that do not fall under the BPL or AAY category. While APL cardholders are not entitled to the same level of subsidies as BPL or AAY cardholders, they can still purchase essential commodities from authorized ration shops at a fair price. The APL ration card ensures that even those who are economically better off can access food grains at reasonable rates.

4. Annapurna Ration Card:

The Annapurna ration card is specifically issued to senior citizens who are eligible for old-age pensions but are not covered under any other social security scheme. Under this scheme, beneficiaries receive 10 kg of food grains per month free of cost. It aims to provide a safety net to elderly individuals and ensure that they have access to nutritious food.

5. State-Specific Ration Cards:

In addition to the above types, different states in India have their own specific ration cards to cater to the unique needs of their populations. These state-specific ration cards may include categories such as priority ration cards, non-priority ration cards, and more. The details and criteria for eligibility vary from state to state, with each state working towards providing food security to its residents.

It is important to note that the types of ration cards mentioned above are not exhaustive, as various states and union territories in India may have their own specific categorizations based on local requirements and social welfare schemes.


Ration cards play a crucial role in ensuring food security and alleviating hunger among the economically weaker sections of society in India. They act as a lifeline for millions of people, providing them with the means to access essential food items at affordable prices. The different types of ration cards cater to the diverse needs of the population, ranging from those below the poverty line to senior citizens in need of support. By understanding and acknowledging the significance of these cards, we can appreciate the efforts made by the government to address the basic needs of its citizens and work towards a more inclusive society.